Great weekend of workouts!

Well, sadly, rain stopped play for our Pyramid challenge on Friday.  We decided we didn’t want to do that run and climb in the rain, so headed to the north of Cairns and ran the Blue Arrow track instead.  My best time from last year was 1 hour and 7 seconds, so I really wanted to try and go under 1 hour.

We went hard, and I felt good, but my time was 1 hour and 3 minutes. A great time, great workout but I was disappointed not to go faster than last year, despite feeling fitter and stronger now than then.  The only things I can put it down to are the heat -( still hot and humid at the tail end of summer) and it’s also the first time I’ve run this track in several months.

 

Anyway, the next day, Euan went to do the blue arrow track again, (in 1 hour and 1 minute) and I did my Spartacus workout. I really pushed it,doing as many reps as fast as I could.  It felt every bit as hard as the blue arrow run the day before!

On Sunday morning, I got up at 6am to go for a run just from home.  I decided to go on the 9.1km circuit.  I felt good and strong, and looking at my times saw that it was going to be a good one. So I pushed all the way and make my best time ever of 51min 37secs! Just brilliant! It was good to get a PB on that run, after the disappointment of the blue arrow.  

The rest of morning I rested – very tired muscles. Then in the afternoon we all went out to do our Aquathon training.  This week I was running with Elise – 3km there (she nearly ran the whole way – up all the hills, just a short walk near the end! So proud of her!)  We then both swam 1km.  I have now done this 3 times – 500m breaststroke and 500m freestyle.  Next week I think I’ll try upping the freestyle!  Then we finished with the 2km jog/walk back.

 

Then today – Monday – just a rest day.  I can feel an ache in my muscles, but I also feel like I want to exercise!   It is good to have a day of rest though!

 

Tomorrow – more swimming with the girls!

 

Jill

About jillinamillion

I'm currently Creating my way to Success - finding ways to utilise my creativity to achieve what I want in life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

